Jeff Skoll Honored with 2017 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy

Jeff Skoll was announced today as a recipient of the 2017 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy.

This prestigious award recognizes outstanding philanthropists who personify Andrew Carnegie’s beliefs and create a world of positive change.

“The recipients of the 2017 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy were selected for their distinguished and longstanding contributions to the public good,” said Vartan Gregorian, president of Carnegie Corporation of New York. “The medal reflects Andrew Carnegie’s enduring legacy of philanthropy and is rooted in two core principles. First: with wealth comes responsibility. Second: individuals, whether guided by religious, civic, humanistic, or democratic aspirations, have the transformative power to use wealth for the betterment of humankind.”

In addition to Jeff, the full list of 2017 honorees include:

  • Mei Hing Chak China; HeungKong Charitable Foundation
  • H. F. (Gerry) and Marguerite Lenfest U.S.A.; Lenfest Foundation
  • Azim Premji India; Azim Premji Foundation
  • Julian Robertson U.S.A.; Robertson Foundation
  • Kristine McDivitt Tompkins U.S.A.; Tompkins Conservation
  • Shelby White U.S.A.; Leon Levy Foundation
  • Sir James D. Wolfensohn U.S.A. and Australia; Wolfensohn Center for Development

This is a great honor for Jeff and all of us who support his vision for a better world.

 You can find more details about the award at the link here:


Comments are closed.